$500,000 supports child-health research in Manitoba

The Children’s Hospital Research Institute of Manitoba (CHRIM), in collaboration with the Children’s Hospital Foundation of Manitoba, is thrilled to announce nearly $500,000 in funding for child health research projects happening at CHRIM.

This funding comes from the 2022 Operating Grant competition and will support ten highly skilled researchers and their labs in a variety of health areas that are seeking to improve outcomes for children in Manitoba and beyond.

“Thanks to generous contributions from our donor community, the Foundation is proud to support the tremendous and imperative work being done at the Children’s Hospital Research Institute,” says  Stefano Grande, President and CEO of the Children’s Hospital Foundation of Manitoba. “This research is highly relevant to the needs of kids and their families right here in Manitoba and around the world, and will #GiveBetterFutures today and for generations to come.”

CHRIM brings together top researchers from a variety of health disciplines who share a common goal of improving the health of children and youth. By including a wide range of disciplines, CHRIM has the unique ability to look at the overall picture of pediatric health – not just one area. The Institute fosters a collaborative and innovative research environment, offering hope to children and their families as researchers work towards medical breakthroughs and cures for childhood illness.

Among the funded projects includes drug testing using mouse models to treat children with polycystic kidney diseases; community interventions to improve mental health in children with food allergies and studying new and improved treatment options for children with inflammatory bowel disease.



Dr. Harold Aukema

Professor, Food and Nutritional Sciences, University of Manitoba

Project: Treating prostaglandin receptors in a model of adolescent nephronophthisis ($50,000.00)


Dr. Robert Beattie

Assistant Professor, Department of Biochemistry and Medical Genetics, University of Manitoba

Project: Cell-Type-Specific Analysis of the Genetic and Environmental Contributions to Autism Spectrum Disorder ($50,000.00)

Dr. Shyamala Dakshinamurti

Professor, Departments of Pediatrics & Child Health and Physiology & Pathophysiology, University of Manitoba

Project: Rapid G protein switching: a toxic effect of oxygen therapy in PPHN ($50,000.00)


Dr. Brad Doble

Associate Professor, Department of Pediatrics & Child Health, University of Manitoba

Project: Novel Models of Wnt Medulloblastoma ($48,932.00)


Dr. Jonathan McGavock

Professor, Department of Pediatrics & Child Health, University of Manitoba

Project: Exposure to maternal diabetes risk in utero and offspring hypertension risk – Estimating causal effects through epidemiological triangulation ($50,000.00)


Dr. Caroline Piotrowski

Associate Professor, Department of Community Health Sciences, University of Manitoba

Project: The Well-being & Experiences of Children with Chronic Kidney Disease (CKD) & their Siblings: Companions Together on the CKD Journey ($49,930.00)


Dr. Jennifer Protudjer

Assistant Professor, Department of Pediatrics & Child Health, University of Manitoba

Project: NOURISH-M2Go: patieNt-Oriented research to Understand and addRess Inequities of food accesS and insecurity amongst Households managing food allergy– Meals2Go ($50,000.00)


Dr. Deanna Santer

Assistant Professor, Department of Immunology, University of Manitoba

Project: Identifying the role of type III interferons in the development and progression of pediatric inflammatory bowel disease ($44,560.00)


Dr. Kellie Thiessen

Associate Professor, College of Nursing, University of Manitoba

Project: Taking a LEAP in care: Complex needs in maternity care re-envisioned with a Lived Experience Advisory Panel ($50,000.00)



Dr. Tamra Werbowetski-Ogilvie

Professor, Department of Biochemistry and Medical Genetics, University of Manitoba

Project: New treatment strategies for childhood medulloblastoma ($49,891.00)



Additionally, each year the Institute welcomes undergraduate students to join a research lab during the summer months as it relates to their field of study, and with a CHRIM scientist providing supervision and mentorship. This year, CHRIM welcomed 52 summer students to CHRIM, 12 from the CHRIM Summer Studentship Grants Competition, and an additional 40 students who joined with external funding.

“The summer studentship program continues to grow with this year being the highest number of undergraduate students to join us to date, says Dr. Terry Klassen, CEO and Scientific Director, CHRIM. “Our goal in supporting students on their path in health studies is to fuel their passion that leads to an impactful career in health research”.


All Studentships are valued at $7,000.00

Sarah Beel Shyamala Dakshinamurti
Andrei Caymo Joe Gordon
Saif Goubran Robert Schroth
Alaina Bagan Andrew Halayko
Jai Sare Richard Keijzer
Samritha Sivakumar Chris Pascoe
Gillian Boychuk Neeloffer Mookherjee
Jessica McBride Jeffrey Wigle
Madissen Sitka Ryan Giuliano/Leslie Roos
Chloé Janse van Rensburg Kristy Wittmeier
Jeannette Comte Meaghan Jones
Shae Mulvihill Ana Hanlon-Dearman
Jhannelle Francis Meghan Azad
Marvin Yan Ayesha Saleem
Allaine Pery Shyamala Dakshinamurti
Ben Ulmer Prashen Chelikani/Saeid Ghavami
Nancy Nguyen Deanna Santer
Jackie Wang Richard Keijzer
Daigh Burgess Richard LeDuc
Jasmine Manji Peter Thompson
Mariah Arches Robert Schroth
Maria Manigque Robert Schroth
Muhammad Abdullah Robert Schroth
Arya Eftekharpour Andrew Halayko
Isaak Fast Jon McGavock
Edward Arevalo Jon McGavock
Cate Giffin Biniam Kidane/Chris Pascoe
Jesse Du Vernon Dolinsky
Harman Vats Brandy Wicklow
Liat Stitz Brandy Wicklow
Jaida Albrechtsen Richard Keijzer
Amy Fernando Joe Gordon
Lucy Wilson Terry Klassen
Bart Kaminksi Terry Klassen
Angela Duaqui Andrew Halayko
Katarina Kowatsch Andrew Halayko
Alexandria Martin Ayesha Saleem
Muhammad Mustafa Talha Ayesha Saleem
Mitchell Wilson Chris Pascoe
Diana Prince Christine Doucette
Evan Abram Alex Aregbesola
Bhavan Dhaliwal Alex Aregbesola
Kyla Chisholm Ryan Giuliano/Leslie Roos
Daniyal Bani Terry Klassen
Josh Northwood Terry Klassen
Camille Prefontaine Peter Thompson
Ashlyn Peter Jennifer Protudjer
Jenna Lam Jennifer Protudjer
Aya Tuma Ayesha Saleem
Claire McCallum Richard Keijzer
Jenny Bouchard Christine Doucette
Chase Ward Christine Doucette
Kaylene Normand Chris Pascoe